Parenting

Getting my groove back.

Some things that I have learned about pregnancy are, 1) don’t try to implement anything new into your routine because being pregnant and having a baby is a big enough change to learn, 2) expect that your days aren’t going to go as planned, and 3) your are now a slave to your tired, aching body, it is now going to determine what you do every day.

I forgot how much time a baby takes. Nursing a newborn is definitely a labor of love and it takes a lot of time out of your day. Then there are diapers to change, clothes to wash after she has pooped and spit up on everything. Not to mention all of your other daily chores that never seem to get done because you don’t have enough time or your body is so tired that you can’t possibly do one more thing. I use to be able to clean my kitchen, get dinner ready and fold two loads of laundry in just a few hours. Now it takes me all day and if I don’t start preparing for dinner by 2 pm I get too tired and irritable to deal with it at supper time.

I am completely in love with my little Molly, my mind and body just need to learn how to manage everything in each new day. Yesterday as I was feeding my baby I thanked God for giving me a beautiful and healthy baby, then I realized that I was crying (stupid hormones). As for my body, I feel swell except for my aching back and these headaches. I went to the chiropractor the other day and felt a lot better but I need to go back a few more times to get on the mend. I think I should start doing some core exercises so that I get some strength back. I don’t remember ever having this much pain in my back after birth but I am getting older now so maybe that has something to do with it!

My three year old just about lost his two front teeth during a family bowling night. He tripped while holding his bowling ball and his face ended up in the ball. The dentist fixed him up the next morning but at the time it was pretty traumatic for the little guy. I’m really proud of myself for how calm I was and the husband really took control of the situation and kept everyone laughing (nothing unusual for him). The truth is, these things are going to happen, they are out of our control and it does no one any good to freak out. Once we got the little guy calmed down, gave him some ibuprofen and major oragel the rest of the night was good. I always say there is a reason God made Willie my third child and not my first, because I would probably have ulcers if he was! I think most parents are more relaxed by the time their third and fourth child come along which is probably for the best.

Standard

Leave a Reply

