Uncategorized

Up in smoke.

I don’t plan on doing a whole lot of ranting on this blog but I’ve been noticing a trend lately that has really been driving me crazy. I don’t care if people smoke, do what you have to do despite ALL of the evidence showing that it is horrible for your health. I do care when people smoke around kids, mine or not. Lately we’ve been attending a lot of outdoor community events, events that are especially dedicated towards children and soon enough I smell it. That familiar toxic smell. Immediately I think “really?!” Glance around only to see a woman sitting at a table FULL of kids (I have to assume that at least one of them are hers) smoking like it’s no big deal. Yes, you are outside but if I can smell it 50 feet away, I guarantee that all those kids sitting at that picnic table can smell it and are breathing in second hand smoke.

I grew up in a household of smokers, my mom smokes, my grandparents both smoked, my dad even smoked at one point. Now that I’m an adult and I am not around anyone that smokes I find it incredibly offensive. I can only imagine what I must have smelled like when I went to school, no wonder I got teased so much.  As a parent, I couldn’t imagine doing something like that around my kids, especially if I knew that it was ultimately harmful for them. It seems like parents who are smokers overlook the facts, don’t think that it’s that bad. Or they simply are too selfish not to do it around their kids.

I wish that I had the courage to give these people a piece of my mind when I see them light up around kids. It’s not that I think that I am better than anyone, I just don’t think that a children’s carnival at the church is an appropriate place to be lighting up a cigarette. Or a 3 year old’s birthday party. Or a Kids Art in the Park day. Or at the County Fair. Or in your car with kids in the backseat. Or standing next to me when I’m obviously pregnant (no I don’t want to talk to you if you are smoking). I could go on and on but I won’t, it just really bothers me.

Standard

Leave a Reply

