Simplify

Simplify.

I wish I had a magic wand so that when I wave it and yell “Simplify” everything would put itself into place like a scene out of a Harry Potter movie. Unfortunately it’s just not that easy. I’ve been really making an effort to become more minimalistic. Have been telling family members for years not to buy us Christmas presents just for the sake of having something to open, not to buy the kids 20 presents each because they already have too much stuff. They have been getting better but it’s still a work in progress. I don’t know if it’s the nesting instincts kicking in but I’ve been in a purge mode. Going through closets and drawers, organizing when I can, cleaning what I can but I still have so much stuff! It’s amazing how much crap stuff that a family can accumulate. We had a garage sale earlier this summer and got rid of a lot, what we didn’t sell went to the Goodwill and I’ve been trying to take at least a box of stuff every time I’m in the Goodwill area. There are still things that I just don’t know what to do with.

This is a photo of my desk right now, mind you my whole house doesn’t look like this (I would go crazy) but I have these little dumping areas throughout my house. Mostly piles of stuff that I don’t know what to do with. Some days (when I get really motivated or pissed off) I get the energy to attack, which usually means just throwing things away. While killing time on Pinterest the other day I stumbled upon this website. Becomingminimalist.com is chocked full of lists and inspiration about becoming minimalist, when I’m feeling that lack of motivation it’s like a magic spell.

I just have to keep myself motivated and eventually I’ll get to the end of the pile.

Standard

Leave a Reply

