Parenting, Pregnancy

Can’t sleep, story of my life.

Now that I’ve been laying in bed trying to fall asleep for 2 hours, I decided to make some good use of my time rather than get sucked into pinterest. I came home from work just in time to catch Team USA circle the opening ceremonies of the olympics and I haven’t been able to fall asleep since. I know it’s my own fault, today I was so very tired and my bedroom was the perfect napping temperature. Needless to say I took a much needed nap this afternoon while my little man lay next to my watching Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. I felt great when I woke up, got ready to go to work, had a decent amount of energy to get my stuff done but then I made a poor decision. I had a small cup of Dr. Pepper and now I’m paying for it because I cannot fall asleep. I expect Will to come in any minute now and laugh at me because I’m still awake. He says the reason I don’t sleep at night is because I sleep too much during the day. The real reason I can’t sleep at night is because I have an active baby swimming around inside of me, or I have to pee every 2 hours and then I wake up hungry. Or maybe becaue my three year old still wakes up during the night and it’s always mommy to the rescue. I know that once I do actually fall asleep tonight that he will wake up and want to sleep with me, which is really fun considering I am already so uncomfortable to begin with. Oh, the other reasons I cant sleep at night, let’s see… My husband takes up the whole bed, it has been the hottest summer on record, I hate having fans blowing in my face, I get woken up by smelly farts then I’m uncomfortable again and can’t sleep. It really has not been a good summer for me. So far this pregnancy has been pretty mellow outside of the lack of sleep thing. I’m beginning to get really crabby and I don’t know if it is the pregnancy talking or the sleeplessness. I notice I’m yelling at the kids more too, I get frustrated really easy with the oldest two and its not their fault, they are just being kids but I am ready for them to go back to school. Every summer its the same thing, they get bored and start driving me crazy. Especially Simon because he already likes to argue and make trouble from the start which takes away a lot of my patience. Hopefully I’ll fall asleep soon, wish me luck!

Standard

Leave a Reply

